Iron County School District

South Elementary has 18 classroom teachers that serve about 475 students.  We serve four sections of Kindergarten, three first grades, three second grades, four third grades, three fourth grades, and three fifth grades.  Collectively we have over 275 years of teaching experience, and over 960 years of parenting experience!  Ten of us have masters degrees, four of us have degrees in something in addition to education, including one in botany.  Six of us grew up in homes where one or both parents were teachers, and one of us suffered a father as a principal.  Eleven of us have specialized endorsements in things such as reading, special education, and teaching gifted and talented students.  One of us survived being run over when she was two, and one of us has rocks in her head!  We've been all over the world from Acapulco to Singapore; One of us has probably RUN around the world if you could count her footsteps.  Three of us have been chosen Teacher of the Year for either Iron County School District or the Cedar Area Chamber of Commerce.  Exceptional students attract exceptional teachers!!

Ekker.jpg

Mrs. Ekker

Kindergarten

Ginger.Ekker@ironmail.org

Bali.jpg

Mrs. Bali

First Grade

Brooke.Bali@ironmail.org

Haight.jpg

Mrs. Haight

Second Grade

Brenda.Haight@ironmail.org

Holmes.jpg

Mrs. Holmes

Third Grade

Marie.Holmes@ironmail.org

Komarek.jpg

Mrs. Komarek

Fourth Grade

Michelle.Komarek@ironmail.org

Little.jpg

Mrs. Little

Fifth Grade

Darcy.Little@ironmail.org

Coonen.jpg

Mrs. Coonen

K-5 Resource

Sharon.Coonen@ironmail.org

Wood.jpg

Mrs. Wood

Kindergarten

Linda.Wood@ironmail.org

Brunson.jpg

Mrs. Brunson

First Grade

Michele.Brunson@ironmail.org

Morris.jpg

Mrs. Morris

Second Grade

MaryAnn.Morris@ironmail.org

Sherratt.jpg

Mrs. Sherratt

Third Grade

Beverly.Sherratt@ironmail.org

Olenslager.jpg

Mrs. Olenslager

Fourth Grade

Carolyn.Olenslager@ironmail.org

Payne.jpg

Mrs. Payne

Fifth Grade

Jeanne.Payne@ironmail.org

Teacher Handbook

Click Here

 

IO_char.jpeg

We like to think we're developing

these characters in Kindergarten!

 

 

Robb.jpg

Mrs. Robb

First Grade

Quinten.Robb@ironmail.org

Segler.jpg

Mrs. Segler

Second Grade

Kimberly.Segler@ironmail.org

Shirley.jpg

Mr. Shirley

Third Grade

Jimmy.Shirley@ironmail.org

Reynolds.jpg

Mrs. Reynolds

Fourth Grade

Karla.Reynolds@ironmail.org

Williams.jpg

Mrs. Williams

Fifth Grade

Julie.Williams@ironmail.org

 
Most of what I really need 
To know about how to live
And what to do and how to be
I learned in kindergarten.
Share everything
Play fair
Don't hit people
Put things back where you found them
Don't take things that aren't yours
Say you're sorry when you hurt somebody...
...When you go out into the world,
Watch out for traffic,
Hold hands and stick together.
Be aware of wonder
 
by Robert Fulghum
 

Education is the

most powerful

weapon which you

can use to change

the world.

Nelson Mandela

 

The important thing is not so much

that every child should be taught,
as that every child should be given the wish to learn.

John Lubbock

Whetman.jpg

Mrs. Whetman

Third Grade

Eileen.Whetman@ironmail.org

 Education

is not the filling of a pail,

 but the lighting of a fire.


Wiliam Butler Yeats

Harris.jpg

Mrs. Harris

Speech/Language Pathologist

Sue.Harris@ironmail.org